Brian Cooper Selected in 9th Class of Leadership South Dakota

Jim McLaughlin Achieves Level 1 Certified Coatings Inspector
May 31, 2022
South Dakota Association of Rural Water Systems
The Maguire Iron Podcast: 31: Idaho Rural Water Systems Association
June 22, 2022

SIOUX FALLS – Forty-three individuals have been selected to participate in the 9th class of Leadership South Dakota. Maguire Iron is excited that Brian Cooper, Director of Business Development, will participate in this year’s class.

“Brian Cooper has been an exemplary leader for our Maguire Companies”, said Gene Jones, Jr., Maguire Iron CEO. “This is evident by his recent acceptance into the Leadership South Dakota program. We are proud of Brian’s accomplishments and look forward to his evolving career at Maguire. Brian truly embraces our Maguire vision of ‘To help Store and Protect Quality Water’. Join me in congratulating Brian on this great achievement!”

“We are excited to announce this year’s class and look forward to working with a great group of folks who are interested in improving their leadership capabilities. We are grateful to have this new class bring their experiences and perspectives to the conversation this year as we all learn how to be better leaders at work, in our communities, and for our state,” stated Rick Melmer Leadership South Dakota Director.

Leadership South Dakota helps homegrown leaders expand their knowledge of the state. From Brookings and Huron to Mission and Rapid City, participants learn from extraordinary people who have contributed to the fabric of our state. In the program, the 2023 class members listed below will gain leadership and organizational management skills, helping them shape the future of South Dakota.

With more than 300 Leadership South Dakota graduates, the consistent positive feedback from those participating has been quite encouraging for this exclusive leadership program.

The class member list, along with the program dates and locations can be viewed at Participants were selected from diverse backgrounds or occupations and locations throughout the state.

Class of 2023

Christie Aberson – First Interstate Bank
Travis Adney – Lawrence & Schiller
Amanda Anglin – Sturgis Economic Development Corp.
Andrew Becker – Rapid City Police Dept.
Kecia Beranek – On Hand Development Corp.
Dominika Blum – Northern State University
Rebecca Bradley – Monument Health
Miranda Broin – POET
Mike Burgard – Marco
Kim Burma – Midco
Scott Carbonneau – First PREMIER Bank
Margaret Carmody – Raven Industries
Brian Cooper – Maguire Iron
Eric Dekam – SBS Cybersecurity
Madeline Diedrich – South Dakota Trust Company
Katelyn Duffy – NorthWestern Energy
Natalie Eisenberg – Click Rain + Lemonly
Shawn Fredericksen – Sammons Financial
Thad Giedd – Pinnacle Productions
Ashia Gustafson – Brookings Public Library
Amy Hasvold – South Dakota Mines
Jennifer Hoesing – DakotAbilities
Luke Hutcheson – First PREMIER Bank
Richie Hutchinson – First Interstate Bank
Nate Johnson – Valley Queen Cheese
Stephanie Judson – SD Community Foundation
Michelle Kane – West Women’s Business Center
Chelaine Knudsen – Yankton Sioux Tribe
David Larson – Hegg Realtor
Madeline Miller – Avera Mckennan — The Link
Erik Nyberg – Cutler Law Firm
Eric Pauli – Xcel Energy
Matt Roby – City of Watertown
Amy Sazue – Rapid City Indian Boarding School
Hannah Schafer – South Dakota Magazine
Bo Secrest – Black Hills Energy
Kelsey Smith – Black Hills Special Services Coop
Sadie Swier – East Women’s Business Center
Hope Vande Kop – SDN Communications
Nathan Vander Plaats – City Administrator, Lennox
Abbey Vanderwerf – Marsh McLennan Agency
Stacy Wrightsman – Sanford Health
Nicole Zoerink – Sanford Health

During their time in the program, the 2023 class will travel to a new area of the state each session and gain valuable insight on topics specific to that region, while hearing from leaders about their challenges, opportunities, and successes they have encountered on their journeys.

2023 Session Dates

Pierre September 21 – 23, 2022 (9/21-10:00am 9/23-3:00 pm)
Brookings October 19 – 21, 2022
Rapid City November 16 – 18, 2022
Huron January 11 – 13, 2023
Mission February 8 – 10, 2023
Sioux Falls March 8 – 10, 2023
Chamberlain March 24, 2023 (Graduation – 10:00 am – 9:00 pm)

About Leadership South Dakota:

Leadership South Dakota is a non-profit (501c3) organization established in 2014. Through generous grants from the South Dakota Community Foundation and the Bush Foundation, Leadership South Dakota became a reality. Leadership South Dakota is supported by First PREMIER Bank and Sanford Health (gold sponsors); Daktronics, Marco, First Interstate Bank, Black Hills Energy, Raven Industries, POET, Sammons Financial Group, SDN Communications, NorthWestern Energy, South Dakota Trust Company, Valley Queen, Avera, Marsh McLennan Agency and Monument Health (silver sponsors); and Boyce Law Firm, Dakota Resources, South Dakota Community Foundation, South Dakota Magazine, Pinnacle Productions and Lawrence & Schiller (in-kind sponsors).